Prayer Week Findings

Method

Every day last week I prayed. During the day I prayed, writing down the prayer. I didn’t pray and then write down what I had prayed, the writing was the praying.

I decided before the week started that I would pray like this every day, and tweet/blog the prayer.

Here are links to the seven prayers:

Results

There were results even before I had started. Showering at work on the morning of the first day, I was thinking about what I would pray/write. Because I was think of the words I would write, this was almost a prayer of its own. I wasn’t quite praying, but I was certainly putting myself close to that space. This became a pattern for the week: the whole day leading up to the writing of the prayer was affected (not every moment perhaps, and it wasn’t a magic spell to protect me from sin).

Why tweet/blog the prayer? This was just part of the “commitment”: made the decision objective enough to help my motivation to see it through. I think that did help. It might have affected the content: I didn’t want to use names; I didn’t want to put in Too Much Information. On the other hand, praying “in the public eye” like this — however “virtually” — strengthened the feelings involved in the praying.

All of the prayers were written either at my office desk or the kitchen table (wife away for the week). That was partly to do with the weather, partly to do with the size of the notebook I’d chosen. It might have affected the topics or the mood.

Further work

Writing praying is a good idea and has a special power of its own.

I can imagine writing longer, deeper prayers (not for public consumption!). I might want to keep each prayer focussed on a specific topic, to allow for that lead up effect (e.g., “When I get to work I will write a prayer about what happened last night.”).

In my bedtime prayers I have got into a habit of “Thank you, Sorry, Please”. One thing missing from my prayer life is adoration or enjoyment of God’s presence. Writing short prayers (which could be tweet/blogged) purely for adoration would help bring that in. “Thank you, Sorry, Please” without “You are beautiful, I love you!” can get a bit depressing.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  •  

  •  

  •