Psalm verses: a bedtime prayer

As with the morningtime verses. These are all (I think) the verses from the Psalms about sleep and nighttime, as well as some other verses that feel nice to me for a bedtime prayer.

Lieing in bed, waiting for the anxieties of the day to recede. I silently say a prayer to myself. If I pray still anxious from the day, the prayer can sometimes not turn out right, and just turns into an anxious ramble. Praying can hekp me calm down, but not always. Praying psalm verses might be better.

What does help is a kind of wordless imagining. Two images especially — although not really “images” as they’re not really visual.

I feel myself, my body, sinking into God, and God filling my body. This is purely sensual — feeling my body heavy and peaceful — and the God narrative makes it extra relaxing and reassuring. I hand my body over to God.

I feel Jesus folding His arms around me, beaming His love into me. This has a sensual component too, but mainly it helps me put my work/life worries away and be happy for going to sleep.

  Seeking refuge
41:4 … “O LORD, be gracious to me; heal me, for I have sinned against you!”
16:1 Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
24:1a The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof,
55:22 Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you;
62:5 For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.
  Finding shelter
4:8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.
77.6 I said, “Let me remember my song in the night; let me meditate in my heart.” Then my spirit made a diligent search
28:7 The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.
125:2 As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds his people, from this time forth and forevermore.
52:8 I am like a green olive tree in the house of God. I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever.
  Amen
92:1 It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; [2] to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night.
30:5 Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.
143:8 Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.
17:15 As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.
26:6 I wash my hands in innocence and go around your altar, O LORD,
  Amen
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  •  

  •  

  •