Jesus praying in Mark’s gospel

All the examples of Jesus praying from the Gospel of Mark. Please let me know if I missed any.

I am finding my way towards praying again. I seem to be in an angry phase — actually coming out of angry/resentful into desolate … I should be fine again by next week.

QUESTION: Is there an online resource somewhere that would let me map verses in one gospel with corresponding verses in the other gospels?

1.35 And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he departed and went out to a desolate place, and there he prayed.

Mark’s is a quiet, plain gospel. This is a quiet, plain verse stitched into an account of Jesus and the disciples on tour preaching and healing. I like it. Jesus prayed. That’s why we should pray: praying is part of what we are.

9.29 And he said to them, “This kind cannot be driven out by anything but prayer.”

A story starting at 1.14: the disciples were not able to cast out a demon, but Jesus could. This verse was his explanation. Jesus here does not claim special authority or power for himself, but rests that power in his faith and his prayer.

11.24 Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

Here is that worrying “ask whatever you wish” again, this time on Jesus’ own lips. I think I would follow Lisa now and say that a prayer like, “Please let me find £1,000,000” is not really a prayer at all. Perhaps “pray” is a success verb like “remember” or “know” (you can only remember something that did happen; you can only know something that is true).

11.25 And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.

Forgiving is hard. Especially secret, real forgiving, rather than just the performance. I imagine it might be transformative though. Perhaps I should “forgive” the lady in the office next door.

14.32 And they went to a place called Gethsemane. And he said to his disciples, “Sit here while I pray.” 33 And he took with him Peter and James and John, and began to be greatly distressed and troubled. 34 And he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death. Remain here and watch.” 35 And going a little farther, he fell on the ground and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from him. 36 And he said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for you. Remove this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.”

… “ask whatever you wish”? … but followed by a submission to God’s will. A tiny simple powerful prayer, a profound prayer and a model.

15.34 And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Does this count as a prayer? I think we have to take it as face value: Jesus thought he had been abandoned by his Father in heaven. He lost his faith. As G. K. Chesterton put it:

… let the atheists themselves choose a god. They will find only one divinity who ever uttered their isolation; only one religion in which God seemed himself for an instant to be an atheist.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  •  

  •  

  •