Some things I like about praying

I’ve got into the habit of praying last thing at night and first thing in the morning.

Last thing at night

After the lights have gone out, and after I’m sure my wife A is asleep, I start.

Lying on my back I bring up my hands to my lips in the praying position. I say out loud (very quietly), “Dear God”. Then I pause. I start to relax and feel very soft and safe. Then I start to pray.

The general structure of my prayer is that I say thank you for something, I say sorry for something, and I ask for help with something. All of the somethings have to be to do with the day that has just passed. The “thank you ” and “help” somethings are not always about me, e.g., if son B is poorly I might say, “Please help B get well soon.”

I might ramble a bit. I try and stick to the point, but I don’t worry too much if I stray. The state of mind I’m in is quite dreamy and I’m sure I often fall asleep before getting to the end.

When I’m sure I’ve nothing left to say, I pause again, enjoying the company a little longer. Then I say out loud (very quietly), “Amen.”

First thing in the morning

During the week, my alarm goes off about 1/2 hour earlier than my wife’s, and I’m usually awake before the alarm (especially since I started praying in the morning). Switching off the alarm, I start.

Lying on my back I bring up my hands to my lips in the praying position. I say out loud (very quietly), “Dear God”. Then I pause. I start to relax and feel very soft and safe. Then I start to pray.

My morning prayer is really just to say “Hello”, to feel his company for a short while, and to ask him to be with me today. I don’t go through all the things I’ve got to do that day, or anything like that. It’s a short prayer.

When I’m sure I’ve nothing left to say, I pause again, enjoying the company a little longer. Then I say out loud (very quietly), “Amen.”

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow. What a beautiful and meaningful prayer habit you’re establishing. Being able to enjoy his company like that is a gift that not everyone unwraps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  •  

  •  

  •